Lady Midnight, The Dark Artifices book 1, by Cassandra Clare, A Quick Review

What a great start to The Dark Artifices series by Cassandra Clare! The last line of the book, not the Epilogue, made me gasp a little. I couldn’t help it! I just… what? But? Omg! Too much and I cant handle it. This book was steeped in the importance and love of family, also romance for sure, but family more so really. The need to have that older sibling, fatherly or, for some, motherly figure. To have that wholeness as a unit, that togetherness that defines the Blackthorns as family. I thought this tale was beautifully told, exciting, had my heart racing at parts. I highly recommend this for fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare!

Divergent by Veronica Roth, A Short Review

This was such a great reread almost 8 years after the first time I read it. I had no idea I would still love this book so much! What I loved most of all was the sweet romance between Tris and Four. I do not know if it affected me as much the first time I read this but this time I felt like a lovey ball of goo just adoring every moment they had together. Honestly, I am not sure if I have really matured much over the years! I highly recommend this to first time readers and rereaders alike. So much fun, definitely fierce and just the right amount of romance.

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!!

Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare, A Short Review

This is such a heartwarming book of short stories all centering on Simon’s time at the Shadowhunter Academy. He may have “Demon Amnesia” but he has amazing friends who are there to help him along the way. This really is a must read for fans of Cassandra Clare’s World because there are actually a lot of details in this that cant be missed!

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!

The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, A Brief Review

This was a joy to read. A brief look at the glamorous life of Magnus Bane. I need to say, if you are interested in reading this, definitely read The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices series first! This answers some questions I had about Bane and it also helped me understand his character more. This book of short stories really made me like Bane as a person a lot more than I already did because I got to see him a little more clearly. I was able to see what really makes him who he is, and now I cant help but absolutely adore him! It proves that sometimes people need to simply understand each other and what makes us “people”. To try to understand, and when we understand each other we can see the whole person, not just the outfit or the glitter. And like people everywhere, there is much more to Magnus Bane than what is on the surface.

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!!

The Ruby Circle by Richelle Mead, A Review

Adrian and Sydney! Married! But there are major issues impeding on their happiness and their ability to live a normal life. When this book begins, they are cloistered at the Moroi Court with Adrian’s mother. However, surprises occur and everything changes.

This has been a great follow up to Vampire Academy. I almost loved this more, particularly the very end. I am #teamadrian all the way and reading about him being this happy just made my heart swell with joy.

If you loved Vampire Academy then this is a must read series! Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!

Silver Shadows, Bloodlines Series Book 5, by Richelle Mead, A Review

This book drove me CRAZY!! It is so high energy the whole way through. Nonstop action that lasts till the last line in the book.

Sydney is captured by the evil Alchemists. At least, these particular Alchemists are super evil. When I started reading this, I honestly became really stressed out by the situations that Sydney and Adrian were in. Everything seemed so hopeless. However, I continued to read and I was not disappointed. Their strength and perseverance won through and helped me see the light at the end of all this darkness.

There are a few major surprises at the very end. Some are incredibly happy and, one in particular, well, I’ll find out when I finish this series soon. One thing is for sure, I am so happy I gave this series a go. If you loved Vampire Academy then this is a must read.

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!

The Fiery Heart by Richelle Mead, Bloodlines Book 4, A Review

Richelle Mead!!! What have you done to me? I am in the big feels, the deep feelings of feels so much right now!! ADRIAN!! The Center will hold! I promise! Right? RIGHT??!!!

Wow, really though, I’m a mess after this book! Much of my “mess” feeling is because this book was not only told from Sydney’s POV but Adrian’s too. Technically, Sydney is still working with the Alchemists, although her eyes are now opened to their schemes. Her life has taken a new direction, a direction away from the hardcore rules and rigid beliefs of the Alchemists. Things are definitely complicated, especially with her little sister working with her now.

One thing that really blew my mind while reading this was the direction Mead took with Adrian and his use of Spirit and connecting it to mental health, particularly bipolar disorder. This was done so well. It is so similar to actual conditions that many people go through on a daily basis, medicated or not. I really respect this wise attention to these significant details.

I love this series! I highly recommend it! Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!

The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead, A Review

This book was so perfect. Book three in the Bloodlines series and it really is not only making my Adrian and Sydney dreams come true but it adds in drama that totally complicates everything to keep the story going.

Sydney may want to avoid the Arcane but magic (and strange things) have a way of finding her. She is also stuck with the Vampires in her life, however, this is becoming less of a problem than maybe it should be for her Alchemist sensibilities.

Sydney has some mysteries to solve or at least look into. Some draw her in very far and put her in dangerous situations. She wants to know more about the elusive Marcus Finch, an ex-Alchemist. All of this leads her to further distrust her Alchemist partners for keeping things from her. She also has a loose and insidious witch to contend with which brings the level of danger she is in to whole new heights.

The ending of this book went from making me feel happy and elated to completely aggravated. I will just have to keep reading to see how Sydney Sage deals with a new issue, a very annoying issue in my opinion.

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!!

The Golden Lily by Richelle Mead, A Review

Sydney Sage is a stickler for everything to be in perfect order. So, still, she finds herself feeling weird ferrying around Vampires. However, even Sydney is beginning to wonder who the real monsters are after the climactic ending of the first book in the Bloodlines Series. This includes confusion about everything her fellow Alchemists are a part of, including (definitely) Keith.

One thing that Sydney is really worried about is how the Alchemists vehemently disapprove of any of their members actually getting close to any Vampires. While she does truly feel uneasy around her Moroi charges, she is very much so on a friendly basis with them. The thing is, that if any of the higher up Alchemists found out just how friendly, she would be sent straight to the horrible Re-Education Center.

I think my favourite part of The Golden Lily is that Sydney actually (Surprise! Surprise!) gets a boyfriend. And the best part is that she is completely clueless about what to do, how to act and how to feel. This, even though Sydney tries looking it up in a book, unfortunately does not come with directions. Even better than all of this, is the end of the book which involves someone else… and a serious cliffhanger!

I highly recommend this series for lovers of Vampire Academy!! Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!

Maxon by Christina Bauer, A Review

This book opens with Maxon and the gang doing what they do best; demon hunting with style. Maxon may have angel blood, but he is also part Furor Demon. Which means he has powers across two deadly sins, Lust and Wrath. And in his opinion, these are the very best ones. I’d say so too, especially because he is super sexy and even has a black tail with a tip like an arrowhead that can be used as a weapon. Maxon has all of this going on but that is not everything, he is also a high prince.

Liana is one of Namare’s apprentices, the Monarkki of water, and currently she is running late to practice. While she is hurrying along, she receives a vision like memory from Franklin, a flying water frog. She learns that her people are in danger from Zephyr, the Monarkki of air. When she finally arrives to practice she is confronted by her egotistical ex-lover, Fisk. However, as the truly badass and independent woman she is, Liana does not take any of his crap, and this is one of the many reasons I instantly her character.

A lot goes down, some very serious and gut-wrenching drama. One good thing is that all this leads to Maxon and Liana meeting. This is one of my favourite parts of the book because neither one of them really knows what to make of the other. Liana is spoiling for a fight mainly because she is awesome and wants to prove she is nobody’s “girl”. (By the way, she has very good reasons for this attitude). Anyways, it results in a sexual tension that is palpable and as they get to know each other, they learn they have more in common than they thought. (And it’s all very romantic!)

This is not just a love story. It’s a love story, of course, but it packs a major punch. Maxon and Liana make a great team while they battle in life and death situations. Honestly, it’s not just their lives on the line, its everyone who is part of their different worlds, too. And what an ending! Very unexpected but, this is Christina Bauer we are talking about, so you know its awesome. Be sure to read the entire epilogue, because the excitement continues on to the very last line.

I highly recommend this book! Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!