After Sundown edited by Mark Morris, A Quick Review

This was a great collection of horror short stories. All the authors involved are incredibly talented at creating creepy atmospheres that would frighten anyone. From monsters to simply unsettling themes, this collection contains it all. I highly suggest this to anyone looking for a scare!

Someone’s Story by B.A. Bellec, A Quick Review

This really surprised me, not just for what an amazing story this is, but that it is honestly the most enjoyable and fulfilling reading experience I have had in a while. This tale is about Someone that I think we all can relate to. This 17 year old young man feels a heightened sense of pressure from the outside world and has the anxiety that goes along with that. When he begins a new school year as a senior in a new town, he doesn’t just learn new things, but learns a whole new way of living. This story made me laugh out loud and also had some very emotional moments that left me in tears. I also love the author’s unique writing style that fits this story perfectly. I feel like Someone’s Story is a must read for YA fans and, honestly, I don’t think I will be forgetting this incredible tale anytime soon.

Four: A Divergent Collection, by Veronica Roth, A Short Review

I am so excited that I finally got to read this book! I already loved Four’s character, so I’m not going to say this put him in a new light for me. Rather, it did add some extra context that I otherwise would not have known. I love the Divergent series and this is a perfect ending.

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!!

Of Wicked Blood by Olivia Wildenstein and Katie Hayoz

This book immediately sucked me in and didn’t let go until the end. A thief steals something that changes everything for not just him but a whole town. It leads him and others into a world of magic that never was imagined. The characters are charismatic and likeable. I loved reading this story and look forward to the sequel!

Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir, A Quick Review

This book, Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir, lives up to its amazing cover art in every way. Gideon is a Cavalier teamed up with her Necromancer, Harrow, while they try to solve a puzzle and a murder mystery while living with the other 7 houses secluded in the lonely First planet. This book is morbid and witty and dreadfully fun. It is also going to serve as a constant reminder to me that I may not be the weirdest weirdo in the room! Yes, this book is so strange, especially the ending, but it’s weird in a good way… to me at least. I highly recommend this!

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!

Lady Midnight, The Dark Artifices book 1, by Cassandra Clare, A Quick Review

What a great start to The Dark Artifices series by Cassandra Clare! The last line of the book, not the Epilogue, made me gasp a little. I couldn’t help it! I just… what? But? Omg! Too much and I cant handle it. This book was steeped in the importance and love of family, also romance for sure, but family more so really. The need to have that older sibling, fatherly or, for some, motherly figure. To have that wholeness as a unit, that togetherness that defines the Blackthorns as family. I thought this tale was beautifully told, exciting, had my heart racing at parts. I highly recommend this for fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare!

Remnants of Atonement by G.P. McKenna, A Short Review

The main character of this book is Kilco, a spunky 16 year old female. Her mother is a doctor in the town they live in, a very good doctor who has a very bad attitude. However, when royalty comes calling her to be the leading physician in the kingdom everything changes for the doctor and Kilco. McKenna has created a really interesting world with some very diverse and intriguing types of people and creatures in it. I recommend this to anyone looking for an enjoyable read that comes with a side of quirkiness. I’d like to thank Netgalley for a copy of this ARC!

Godsgrave by Jay Kristoff, A Short Review

I’m not going to give away what happened in Nevernight and in this fabulous sequel, Godsgrave. I’m just going to say you can consider my mind blown! Kristoff has a way of tricking me into believing that I know what is going on and then completely flipping the story to what I least expect. This series is amazing, Mia Corvere is Amazing and I highly recommend this!

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!

Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik, A Review

This dark and sometimes creepy, cold as a winter’s breath fairytale will satisfy all your needs for magic. This story pours slow like honey but is crisp as ice. If you can’t tell, I adored this book! It has a very classic feeling while still being new and fresh. I highly recommend this for everyone, even people who do not normally read fantasy. It’s the perfect book for a chilly or rainy day and a warm cup of tea!

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!

Exit Strategy by Martha Wells, The Murderbot Diaries 4, A Short Review

This is the fourth and last book in The Murderbot Diaries miniseries. The story continues but the ending of this is completely satisfying. Dont get me wrong, I am going to continue reading. But I have adored these short novellas and Murderbot feels like a person I know, they feel like they are with me. I struggle so much with communicating and letting people in and social anxiety, and Murderbot has become this very significant character to me that genuinely helps me feel like I can get through things. Best series I have ever read!

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!!