Persephone Station by Stina Leicht, A Quick Review

This is such a cool book. I loved how the main cast of characters were pretty much all female with a great showing of diversity. Also, this world Stina Leicht creates is very interesting and unique. I did think it had a slow beginning for me, but when it picked up, it was very exciting. The ending feels a little quick, just feel like I was left hanging. However, this is definitely worth a read, especially if your in the mood for a badass space opera!

Percivious Insomnia by JJ and AJ Cook, A Quick Review

I loved the idea behind this book. It begins with new information being released about the future of mankind and our evident downfall that is approaching. What would really happen if we found out that everything we thought we knew about life itself was a lie? The introduction to all the different characters was great and I felt like the authors created a really good cast for this story. The concept makes for a thrilling tale, particularly that last chapter. I had a “Wow” moment at the end that makes me excited for the next book. The only issue I had was a little confusion following which character’s POV I was reading because it would sometimes change from paragraph to paragraph. However, I was able to get used to this unique style of writing and wound up really enjoying this book.

Feed by Mira Grant, A Quick Review

Mira Grant (AKA Seanan McGuire) really packed a punch at the end of this first book to The Newsflesh Trilogy. I would like to mention that I did not realise how emotional a Zombie Scifi/fantasy/horror book could be. McGuire did such an amazing job getting the details perfect for this line of storytelling. I really was not expecting to love this book as much as I did. I think the credibility of Maguire’s ideas that create this new Zombified version of America are truly well thought out and fascinating. This is a great read for Zombie fans, for Scifi fans, for fans of Journalism and Politics… all of the above. I cannot wait to read the next book!

Echoes of Darkness by Cheryl Campbell, A Quick Review

This is the sequel to Echoes of War and it is a fun, action packed and suspenseful follow up. Dani is an Echoe with regen capabilities, that basically means that her body can regenerate to a former state in most cases if death comes her way. This strong and capable protagonist is not a typical Echoe, in fact she fights alongside humans against other Echoes called Wardens. And this is where the story gets intense because the main antagonist is so evil and will literally do whatever it takes to get his hands on Dani. I recommend this if your interested in a unique scifi story that will keep you entertained! Also, thank you to Netgalley for this Advanced Readers Copy. Echoes of Darkness comes out October 5th, 2020.

Four: A Divergent Collection, by Veronica Roth, A Short Review

I am so excited that I finally got to read this book! I already loved Four’s character, so I’m not going to say this put him in a new light for me. Rather, it did add some extra context that I otherwise would not have known. I love the Divergent series and this is a perfect ending.

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!!

Lord of Shadows, The Dark Artifices book 2, by Cassandra Clare, A Short Review

This second book in the Dark Artifices series by Cassandra Clare had a fairly slow beginning and middle until almost the very end. I definitely had problems focusing and keeping my attention on reading this book. With that said, the ending is intense. I really can’t even decide how I feel about it besides partially devastated and maybe frustrated. This series really attempts to tackle some serious issues concerning mental health and different aspects to the LGBTQ community which only increases my love for Clare. I definitely suggest being patient with this series and trying to enjoy it, especially if you are a fan of the first two series in the Shadowhunter world.

Down World by Rebecca Phelps, A Quick Review

I really loved this. I did see the likeness to Stranger Things but it was different enough to still hold it’s own. The author, Phelps, must have experience with loss or she really did her research. The way Phelps described the emotions and reactions to this devastating loss the family was going through was just so on the mark. I felt a connection to Marina’s character the whole book even though she is so young, I felt like she was very truthfully described, very relatable. I definitely suggest this to scifi fans and YA fans!

Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir, A Quick Review

This book, Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir, lives up to its amazing cover art in every way. Gideon is a Cavalier teamed up with her Necromancer, Harrow, while they try to solve a puzzle and a murder mystery while living with the other 7 houses secluded in the lonely First planet. This book is morbid and witty and dreadfully fun. It is also going to serve as a constant reminder to me that I may not be the weirdest weirdo in the room! Yes, this book is so strange, especially the ending, but it’s weird in a good way… to me at least. I highly recommend this!

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!

Insurgent by Veronica Roth, A Short Review

I have to admit that rereading this about 8 years after the first time I read this series was a little frustrating.     Tris had so many opportunities to be honest and just reveal her issues and ideas to people, especially Four, and now that I’m older I was just really frustrated with her.  I suppose now in my life I have realized that being upfront and honest, in general,  makes everything so much easier.   It’s still a really fun and quick read though.  Although I had some frustrations, I still really enjoyed the story and the ending kind of makes up for my minor dilemmas. 

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!

Exit Strategy by Martha Wells, The Murderbot Diaries 4, A Short Review

This is the fourth and last book in The Murderbot Diaries miniseries. The story continues but the ending of this is completely satisfying. Dont get me wrong, I am going to continue reading. But I have adored these short novellas and Murderbot feels like a person I know, they feel like they are with me. I struggle so much with communicating and letting people in and social anxiety, and Murderbot has become this very significant character to me that genuinely helps me feel like I can get through things. Best series I have ever read!

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!!