Arc Review, Project Hail Mary by Andy Weir

WOW!

Andy Weir went above and beyond on this one, and that’s saying a lot.  After reading The Martian years ago, Andy Weir became one of my favorite authors.  He has a way of writing about difficult concepts and abstract ideas while saying it in a way that makes complete sense.   He explains scientific and mathematical concepts while addressing them and using them to push the story onward which is perfect for readers like me that do not easily grasp these kinds of things.

This book, Project Hail Mary,  stayed humorous and light-hearted while dealing with complex world issues including moral issues.   A man, who has no memory of who he is, wakes up in a strange place.  After pulling from information he naturally knows and using the tools provided to him … there is only one explanation: He is in space! But where? And why? And how?

All these questions and more are answered throughout the novel and it’s incredible! I highly recommend this to fans of Andy Weir and fans of Scifi in general!

And a huge thank you to Netgalley for this Arc!!

ARC Review, Dustborn by Erin Bowman

I loved the idea of this story, the sandy and hot atmosphere reminded me of Dune and Mad Max. There were, however, a few things I did not love but I will get to that shortly.
Delta is a badass female MC and she has a good reason to be. Not only does she live a hard life at Dead River, but she also is one of two people with a secret map to The Verdant branded on her back. One night she takes her sister to receive help with her pregnancy and although Delta loses her sister to childbirth that night, she takes the baby and returns to her people, her family… only to find out that raiders trashed their settlement and took her family to Bedrock which is where a man known as the General rules like an overlord.
The story honestly just gets better and better. What I had difficulty with was not being able to really feel that the characters were being genuine and realistic when they communicated with one another. The way they spoke felt forced to me personally.
I do think this was a fun and fast paced read, definitely original with some mystical touches to it.

Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for a copy of this arc. All opinions are my own.

Victories Greater than Death by Charlie Jane Anders, ARC Review

Tina is just your average teenage girl… whom is also an alien with a beacon in her chest that will go off when it’s time to start her new life… in space. And yes, it’s just as cool as it sounds!
When Tina’s beacon goes off, her and her best friend, Rachael, make a run for it. They are soon surrounded by the enemy aliens (super creepy enemy aliens), but they are still doing their best to escape. Luckily, a friendly face appears… or, at least, a face that doesn’t look murderous, Yatto the Monthaa. Yatto (they/them) takes both Tina and Rachael to The Royal Fleet… and things get even more exciting.
This story is a tale of the best group of misfits working together, a tale of what it means to really be a hero, and ultimately a tale of peoples coming together to fight oppression. I couldn’t help but cheer everyone on at the end, but don’t worry…. there will be more! And I can’t wait to find out what happens next!

Isoldesse by Kimberley Grymes, A Quick Review

Isoldesse is a light science fiction read. The cover of the book is stunning, depicting four of the main characters. However, there were so many characters by the end that it honestly left me confused. So much happens in this story. Kenna, a young college aged Earthen, is given an Arcstone that is just the beginning of changing her life. Not to mention all the other storylines that flip her world and her friends, completely upside down. I would recommend this to fans of an interesting scifi for young adults, however I must reiterate that by the end of this book I felt that too many different things were going on and it was hard for me to focus. And thank you Netgalley for this ARC!

Winter by Marissa Meyer, A Quick Review

“Broken isn’t the same as unfixable.”

This was such a great conclusion to The Lunar Chronicles and I’m so glad there are some novellas with a little extra so I can come back and visit this great group of characters. 
Cinder, Scarlet, Cress and Winter and their companions are just so likeable.  The easy way this story tells all kinds of different tales that all speak of equality and are not only relatable but heartwarming.
This has been a great experience and I definitely recommend this series to any fans of the YA genre. 

Persephone Station by Stina Leicht, A Quick Review

This is such a cool book. I loved how the main cast of characters were pretty much all female with a great showing of diversity. Also, this world Stina Leicht creates is very interesting and unique. I did think it had a slow beginning for me, but when it picked up, it was very exciting. The ending feels a little quick, just feel like I was left hanging. However, this is definitely worth a read, especially if your in the mood for a badass space opera!

Percivious Insomnia by JJ and AJ Cook, A Quick Review

I loved the idea behind this book. It begins with new information being released about the future of mankind and our evident downfall that is approaching. What would really happen if we found out that everything we thought we knew about life itself was a lie? The introduction to all the different characters was great and I felt like the authors created a really good cast for this story. The concept makes for a thrilling tale, particularly that last chapter. I had a “Wow” moment at the end that makes me excited for the next book. The only issue I had was a little confusion following which character’s POV I was reading because it would sometimes change from paragraph to paragraph. However, I was able to get used to this unique style of writing and wound up really enjoying this book.

Feed by Mira Grant, A Quick Review

Mira Grant (AKA Seanan McGuire) really packed a punch at the end of this first book to The Newsflesh Trilogy. I would like to mention that I did not realise how emotional a Zombie Scifi/fantasy/horror book could be. McGuire did such an amazing job getting the details perfect for this line of storytelling. I really was not expecting to love this book as much as I did. I think the credibility of Maguire’s ideas that create this new Zombified version of America are truly well thought out and fascinating. This is a great read for Zombie fans, for Scifi fans, for fans of Journalism and Politics… all of the above. I cannot wait to read the next book!

Echoes of Darkness by Cheryl Campbell, A Quick Review

This is the sequel to Echoes of War and it is a fun, action packed and suspenseful follow up. Dani is an Echoe with regen capabilities, that basically means that her body can regenerate to a former state in most cases if death comes her way. This strong and capable protagonist is not a typical Echoe, in fact she fights alongside humans against other Echoes called Wardens. And this is where the story gets intense because the main antagonist is so evil and will literally do whatever it takes to get his hands on Dani. I recommend this if your interested in a unique scifi story that will keep you entertained! Also, thank you to Netgalley for this Advanced Readers Copy. Echoes of Darkness comes out October 5th, 2020.

Four: A Divergent Collection, by Veronica Roth, A Short Review

I am so excited that I finally got to read this book! I already loved Four’s character, so I’m not going to say this put him in a new light for me. Rather, it did add some extra context that I otherwise would not have known. I love the Divergent series and this is a perfect ending.

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!!