A Golden Fury by Samantha Cohoe, A Quick Review

Thank you Netgalley for this ARC! Be prepared to immerse yourself in the secret world of alchemy in A Golden Fury by Samantha Cohoe. Theosebeia is a 17 year old young woman who was on the cusp of discovery when her mother seemed to begin losing her mind while living with a patron in France. Thea finds herself facing new territory mostly on her own. Although she may come across reasons to distrust those around her, she will also find a completely new way of life. This is a terrific read that comes out mid October this year and I will be recommending this to all my friends!

Feed by Mira Grant, A Quick Review

Mira Grant (AKA Seanan McGuire) really packed a punch at the end of this first book to The Newsflesh Trilogy. I would like to mention that I did not realise how emotional a Zombie Scifi/fantasy/horror book could be. McGuire did such an amazing job getting the details perfect for this line of storytelling. I really was not expecting to love this book as much as I did. I think the credibility of Maguire’s ideas that create this new Zombified version of America are truly well thought out and fascinating. This is a great read for Zombie fans, for Scifi fans, for fans of Journalism and Politics… all of the above. I cannot wait to read the next book!

Echoes of Darkness by Cheryl Campbell, A Quick Review

This is the sequel to Echoes of War and it is a fun, action packed and suspenseful follow up. Dani is an Echoe with regen capabilities, that basically means that her body can regenerate to a former state in most cases if death comes her way. This strong and capable protagonist is not a typical Echoe, in fact she fights alongside humans against other Echoes called Wardens. And this is where the story gets intense because the main antagonist is so evil and will literally do whatever it takes to get his hands on Dani. I recommend this if your interested in a unique scifi story that will keep you entertained! Also, thank you to Netgalley for this Advanced Readers Copy. Echoes of Darkness comes out October 5th, 2020.

Four: A Divergent Collection, by Veronica Roth, A Short Review

I am so excited that I finally got to read this book! I already loved Four’s character, so I’m not going to say this put him in a new light for me. Rather, it did add some extra context that I otherwise would not have known. I love the Divergent series and this is a perfect ending.

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!!

Of Wicked Blood by Olivia Wildenstein and Katie Hayoz

This book immediately sucked me in and didn’t let go until the end. A thief steals something that changes everything for not just him but a whole town. It leads him and others into a world of magic that never was imagined. The characters are charismatic and likeable. I loved reading this story and look forward to the sequel!

Lord of Shadows, The Dark Artifices book 2, by Cassandra Clare, A Short Review

This second book in the Dark Artifices series by Cassandra Clare had a fairly slow beginning and middle until almost the very end. I definitely had problems focusing and keeping my attention on reading this book. With that said, the ending is intense. I really can’t even decide how I feel about it besides partially devastated and maybe frustrated. This series really attempts to tackle some serious issues concerning mental health and different aspects to the LGBTQ community which only increases my love for Clare. I definitely suggest being patient with this series and trying to enjoy it, especially if you are a fan of the first two series in the Shadowhunter world.

Down World by Rebecca Phelps, A Quick Review

I really loved this. I did see the likeness to Stranger Things but it was different enough to still hold it’s own. The author, Phelps, must have experience with loss or she really did her research. The way Phelps described the emotions and reactions to this devastating loss the family was going through was just so on the mark. I felt a connection to Marina’s character the whole book even though she is so young, I felt like she was very truthfully described, very relatable. I definitely suggest this to scifi fans and YA fans!

Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir, A Quick Review

This book, Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir, lives up to its amazing cover art in every way. Gideon is a Cavalier teamed up with her Necromancer, Harrow, while they try to solve a puzzle and a murder mystery while living with the other 7 houses secluded in the lonely First planet. This book is morbid and witty and dreadfully fun. It is also going to serve as a constant reminder to me that I may not be the weirdest weirdo in the room! Yes, this book is so strange, especially the ending, but it’s weird in a good way… to me at least. I highly recommend this!

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!

Lady Midnight, The Dark Artifices book 1, by Cassandra Clare, A Quick Review

What a great start to The Dark Artifices series by Cassandra Clare! The last line of the book, not the Epilogue, made me gasp a little. I couldn’t help it! I just… what? But? Omg! Too much and I cant handle it. This book was steeped in the importance and love of family, also romance for sure, but family more so really. The need to have that older sibling, fatherly or, for some, motherly figure. To have that wholeness as a unit, that togetherness that defines the Blackthorns as family. I thought this tale was beautifully told, exciting, had my heart racing at parts. I highly recommend this for fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare!

Crown of Bones by A.K. Wilder, A Review

First I want to say that I recieved this Advanced Readers Copy from Netgalley, which I’m very thankful for, and I read this voluntarily and my review is definitely my own thoughts on this great read. Now, let’s first talk about this beautiful cover! This drew me in and is a great representation of the vibe of this story. I was immediately immersed in Wilder’s world with the explosive beginning and it did not stop there. The story only became more exciting particularly because it was full of twists and turns that were completely unexpected. I also love this magic system, it is incredibly unique and has a very visual allure. The whole idea of calling a phantom that can take any shape with vivid colours was so amazing to read about. I highly suggest this and I must say, I want MORE!

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!!