Isoldesse by Kimberley Grymes, A Quick Review

Isoldesse is a light science fiction read. The cover of the book is stunning, depicting four of the main characters. However, there were so many characters by the end that it honestly left me confused. So much happens in this story. Kenna, a young college aged Earthen, is given an Arcstone that is just the beginning of changing her life. Not to mention all the other storylines that flip her world and her friends, completely upside down. I would recommend this to fans of an interesting scifi for young adults, however I must reiterate that by the end of this book I felt that too many different things were going on and it was hard for me to focus. And thank you Netgalley for this ARC!

Winter by Marissa Meyer, A Quick Review

“Broken isn’t the same as unfixable.”

This was such a great conclusion to The Lunar Chronicles and I’m so glad there are some novellas with a little extra so I can come back and visit this great group of characters. 
Cinder, Scarlet, Cress and Winter and their companions are just so likeable.  The easy way this story tells all kinds of different tales that all speak of equality and are not only relatable but heartwarming.
This has been a great experience and I definitely recommend this series to any fans of the YA genre. 

Persephone Station by Stina Leicht, A Quick Review

This is such a cool book. I loved how the main cast of characters were pretty much all female with a great showing of diversity. Also, this world Stina Leicht creates is very interesting and unique. I did think it had a slow beginning for me, but when it picked up, it was very exciting. The ending feels a little quick, just feel like I was left hanging. However, this is definitely worth a read, especially if your in the mood for a badass space opera!

The Raven by Jonathan Janz, A Quick Review

This action packed thriller set in a post apocalyptic world follows Dez as he attempts to find someone that was taken from him. Dez is a Latent, meaning he doesn’t have any powers. When the world went crazy, people everywhere developed Supernatural powers turning them into the monsters of myth. This dangerous world is not only horrifying but incredibly interesting in its structure. Little did I know when I began reading this book how much I would love it. I loved Dez’s character and felt like I was part of the story, at times feeling like he was speaking directly to me particularly when he was journaling. Overall The Raven was a really fun read and a perfect fit for this creeptastic time of year!

Percivious Insomnia by JJ and AJ Cook, A Quick Review

I loved the idea behind this book. It begins with new information being released about the future of mankind and our evident downfall that is approaching. What would really happen if we found out that everything we thought we knew about life itself was a lie? The introduction to all the different characters was great and I felt like the authors created a really good cast for this story. The concept makes for a thrilling tale, particularly that last chapter. I had a “Wow” moment at the end that makes me excited for the next book. The only issue I had was a little confusion following which character’s POV I was reading because it would sometimes change from paragraph to paragraph. However, I was able to get used to this unique style of writing and wound up really enjoying this book.

The Tower of Fools by Andrzej Sapkowski, A Quick Review

Thank you Netgalley for this Advanced Readers Copy! I knew I would enjoy this because I loved The Witcher series by this author. Andrzej Sapkowski, in this first book of The Hussite Trilogy, tackles this insane time period with historical references and fantasy references all mixed together. There are times that I felt like I was reading ideas on religion and politics, especially concerning this period (1425), but I would be brought back to a fantasy based series involving witches and magic. Also, yes, there is prophecy in this book, too! Although, I have to say, I definitely do not find myself agreeing with all the thoughts in this book… particularly the way men thought about and interacted with women. As a woman, I felt weird reading some general thoughts and actions taken by the characters. Just had to say that… honestly. I looked past that and really did love the majority of this book. So I do recommend this to fans.

A Golden Fury by Samantha Cohoe, A Quick Review

Thank you Netgalley for this ARC! Be prepared to immerse yourself in the secret world of alchemy in A Golden Fury by Samantha Cohoe. Theosebeia is a 17 year old young woman who was on the cusp of discovery when her mother seemed to begin losing her mind while living with a patron in France. Thea finds herself facing new territory mostly on her own. Although she may come across reasons to distrust those around her, she will also find a completely new way of life. This is a terrific read that comes out mid October this year and I will be recommending this to all my friends!

Feed by Mira Grant, A Quick Review

Mira Grant (AKA Seanan McGuire) really packed a punch at the end of this first book to The Newsflesh Trilogy. I would like to mention that I did not realise how emotional a Zombie Scifi/fantasy/horror book could be. McGuire did such an amazing job getting the details perfect for this line of storytelling. I really was not expecting to love this book as much as I did. I think the credibility of Maguire’s ideas that create this new Zombified version of America are truly well thought out and fascinating. This is a great read for Zombie fans, for Scifi fans, for fans of Journalism and Politics… all of the above. I cannot wait to read the next book!

Echoes of Darkness by Cheryl Campbell, A Quick Review

This is the sequel to Echoes of War and it is a fun, action packed and suspenseful follow up. Dani is an Echoe with regen capabilities, that basically means that her body can regenerate to a former state in most cases if death comes her way. This strong and capable protagonist is not a typical Echoe, in fact she fights alongside humans against other Echoes called Wardens. And this is where the story gets intense because the main antagonist is so evil and will literally do whatever it takes to get his hands on Dani. I recommend this if your interested in a unique scifi story that will keep you entertained! Also, thank you to Netgalley for this Advanced Readers Copy. Echoes of Darkness comes out October 5th, 2020.

Four: A Divergent Collection, by Veronica Roth, A Short Review

I am so excited that I finally got to read this book! I already loved Four’s character, so I’m not going to say this put him in a new light for me. Rather, it did add some extra context that I otherwise would not have known. I love the Divergent series and this is a perfect ending.

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!!