A Curse of Roses by Diana Pinguicha

First of all, I do not know how anybody can pass by this cover without feeling the NEED to know more. And, I’d like to say this story is just as beautiful as it appears. I really appreciate the author’s note at the beginning. A kind of warning about topics that could make a reader uncomfortable. However, all these topics were covered with such class that I had no difficulty. This is based on a Portuguese story about a princess named Ysabel. Ysabel is not a typical princess and believes she is cursed. She is basically starving herself because the food she touches and tries to eat turns into flowers. However, with the help of an unexpected new arrival she learns to turn this curse into a blessing. This book has so many layers, from religious to political to the fantastical. What this comes down to is can Ysabel accept herself, all the things that make up herself, and be true to herself.

Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas, A Quick Review

I had no idea how much I needed Yadriel and Julian in my life! This is such a vibrant book that simply overflows with love and acceptance. Yadriel is a 16 year old trans boy that is right on the cusp of discovering that not only can he be accepted by his family but he will find a way to be more accepting of himself as well. Before he meets Julian, Yadriel thinks that all he needs is to become a brujo, which he believes will show everyone that he is also truly a boy. When he secretly completes the ritual to become a brujo, he also tries to raise a spirit and this is when the ghost of Julian enters the story. This is an eye opening tale in many ways and I was captivated until the end.

Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco, A Quick Review!

Thank you Netgalley for this ARC! Wow, this ending! I have to read the next book as soon as possible! This is the perfect Halloween read. Maniscalco spins a tale about witches, demons (sexy demons!), even Vampires and werewolves. Join Emilia as she searches for her sister’s murderer and finds herself pulled deeper and deeper into dark magic and her families secrets. This was a thrilling ride and, like I said, I can’t wait for the next book!

The Tower of Fools by Andrzej Sapkowski, A Quick Review

Thank you Netgalley for this Advanced Readers Copy! I knew I would enjoy this because I loved The Witcher series by this author. Andrzej Sapkowski, in this first book of The Hussite Trilogy, tackles this insane time period with historical references and fantasy references all mixed together. There are times that I felt like I was reading ideas on religion and politics, especially concerning this period (1425), but I would be brought back to a fantasy based series involving witches and magic. Also, yes, there is prophecy in this book, too! Although, I have to say, I definitely do not find myself agreeing with all the thoughts in this book… particularly the way men thought about and interacted with women. As a woman, I felt weird reading some general thoughts and actions taken by the characters. Just had to say that… honestly. I looked past that and really did love the majority of this book. So I do recommend this to fans.

Feed by Mira Grant, A Quick Review

Mira Grant (AKA Seanan McGuire) really packed a punch at the end of this first book to The Newsflesh Trilogy. I would like to mention that I did not realise how emotional a Zombie Scifi/fantasy/horror book could be. McGuire did such an amazing job getting the details perfect for this line of storytelling. I really was not expecting to love this book as much as I did. I think the credibility of Maguire’s ideas that create this new Zombified version of America are truly well thought out and fascinating. This is a great read for Zombie fans, for Scifi fans, for fans of Journalism and Politics… all of the above. I cannot wait to read the next book!

Four: A Divergent Collection, by Veronica Roth, A Short Review

I am so excited that I finally got to read this book! I already loved Four’s character, so I’m not going to say this put him in a new light for me. Rather, it did add some extra context that I otherwise would not have known. I love the Divergent series and this is a perfect ending.

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!!

Of Wicked Blood by Olivia Wildenstein and Katie Hayoz

This book immediately sucked me in and didn’t let go until the end. A thief steals something that changes everything for not just him but a whole town. It leads him and others into a world of magic that never was imagined. The characters are charismatic and likeable. I loved reading this story and look forward to the sequel!

Lord of Shadows, The Dark Artifices book 2, by Cassandra Clare, A Short Review

This second book in the Dark Artifices series by Cassandra Clare had a fairly slow beginning and middle until almost the very end. I definitely had problems focusing and keeping my attention on reading this book. With that said, the ending is intense. I really can’t even decide how I feel about it besides partially devastated and maybe frustrated. This series really attempts to tackle some serious issues concerning mental health and different aspects to the LGBTQ community which only increases my love for Clare. I definitely suggest being patient with this series and trying to enjoy it, especially if you are a fan of the first two series in the Shadowhunter world.

Darkdawn by Jay Kristoff, A Short Review

WOW! The ending of The Nevernight Trilogy was incredible. I’m not going to give anything away, but I have to say this last book held quite a few amazing surprises. The thing I love about Mia that holds true to the end is her grip on being human. Or, to say it another way, her ability through all this rage and awful to not completely become a cold-hearted killer. She stays warm and real. She keeps part of herself soft instead of turning to stone. And I think that in and of itself is a great lesson for all of us.

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!!

Down World by Rebecca Phelps, A Quick Review

I really loved this. I did see the likeness to Stranger Things but it was different enough to still hold it’s own. The author, Phelps, must have experience with loss or she really did her research. The way Phelps described the emotions and reactions to this devastating loss the family was going through was just so on the mark. I felt a connection to Marina’s character the whole book even though she is so young, I felt like she was very truthfully described, very relatable. I definitely suggest this to scifi fans and YA fans!