Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia, A Quick Review

This story takes place in the year 1950 and follows the confident and beautiful Noemi. After being called away from a costume party by her father, she is told that she absolutely must go to her cousin, Catalina, and try to get to the bottom of the disturbing message she has sent them from her new home at the mansion High Place. It’s when Noemi arrives at this once beautiful and grand, but now grandly dilapidated, house that the creepiness begins. Noemi is a strong-willed woman and brave, however she cannot make sense of the visions and illusions that haunt her in High Place or the strange state of her cousin. This book is creepy in every way and the characters have stayed on my mind since I finished reading. The idea behind this tale is disturbing and pushed me to wonder about the morbid and hateful ideals spoken of throughout this book. It’s not just the actual imagery of horror but the mindset that created it in the first place, the master of the house and his whole horrible objective. There were parts that had my skin crawling with chills and goosebumps. Definitely a great read for this spooky season!

The Raven by Jonathan Janz, A Quick Review

This action packed thriller set in a post apocalyptic world follows Dez as he attempts to find someone that was taken from him. Dez is a Latent, meaning he doesn’t have any powers. When the world went crazy, people everywhere developed Supernatural powers turning them into the monsters of myth. This dangerous world is not only horrifying but incredibly interesting in its structure. Little did I know when I began reading this book how much I would love it. I loved Dez’s character and felt like I was part of the story, at times feeling like he was speaking directly to me particularly when he was journaling. Overall The Raven was a really fun read and a perfect fit for this creeptastic time of year!

After Sundown edited by Mark Morris, A Quick Review

This was a great collection of horror short stories. All the authors involved are incredibly talented at creating creepy atmospheres that would frighten anyone. From monsters to simply unsettling themes, this collection contains it all. I highly suggest this to anyone looking for a scare!

Monstre: Volume One by Duncan Swan, A Quick Review

This was so intense! Right from the very beginning to the very last line in this debut novel by Duncan Swan. The apocalypse has come for our planet, and it begins in a really interesting way which the reader learns about towards the end. This is not a typical horror novel. It covers two different time periods, day 0 and onward, and then starting at day 89 and onward. I loved seeing this play out with the different characters and their point of view. Also, the monsters themselves are very creepy and wow, INTENSE. I think creepy is the perfect word for this, literally giving me chills at times. A gory, creepy and intense ride into a world turned into a nightmare, read at your own risk!

Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco, A Quick Review!

Thank you Netgalley for this ARC! Wow, this ending! I have to read the next book as soon as possible! This is the perfect Halloween read. Maniscalco spins a tale about witches, demons (sexy demons!), even Vampires and werewolves. Join Emilia as she searches for her sister’s murderer and finds herself pulled deeper and deeper into dark magic and her families secrets. This was a thrilling ride and, like I said, I can’t wait for the next book!

Feed by Mira Grant, A Quick Review

Mira Grant (AKA Seanan McGuire) really packed a punch at the end of this first book to The Newsflesh Trilogy. I would like to mention that I did not realise how emotional a Zombie Scifi/fantasy/horror book could be. McGuire did such an amazing job getting the details perfect for this line of storytelling. I really was not expecting to love this book as much as I did. I think the credibility of Maguire’s ideas that create this new Zombified version of America are truly well thought out and fascinating. This is a great read for Zombie fans, for Scifi fans, for fans of Journalism and Politics… all of the above. I cannot wait to read the next book!

The Outsider by Stephen King, A Quick Review

What a perfect start to my Spooktacular Fall Reads! King did not let me down. The beginning especially, the first 300 pages or so, were incredibly suspenseful. I had no idea what was happening until a certain character basically laid it out. This book was full of creepy surprises and was based on a horrifying murder of a young man. This murder led to an arrest but also many other questions which personally held me in the most suspense. This book was published in 2018 and I must say that King still has the crown of “Master of Horror ” with his real world horrific events mixed with the supernatural.

Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir, A Quick Review

This book, Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir, lives up to its amazing cover art in every way. Gideon is a Cavalier teamed up with her Necromancer, Harrow, while they try to solve a puzzle and a murder mystery while living with the other 7 houses secluded in the lonely First planet. This book is morbid and witty and dreadfully fun. It is also going to serve as a constant reminder to me that I may not be the weirdest weirdo in the room! Yes, this book is so strange, especially the ending, but it’s weird in a good way… to me at least. I highly recommend this!

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!

The Near Witch by V. E. Schwab, A Review

“It began with a crack, and a sputter, and a spark. “

– V. E. Schwab, The Near Witch

This book opens with a little sister begging for just one more bedtime story. Lexi, her little sister Wren, and her mother, all live in Near. They live on the edge of this circular village by the moors, where the wind whispers and howls.

That night, as Wren sleeps, Lexi sees someone while looking out the window. Someone she doesn’t recognize, a stranger. But, that’s the thing, there are no strangers in Near. So, who could this be?

The story takes off from there, and as the wind whips across the moors, Schwab will sweep you of your feet with this creepy and lovely tale.

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!

Horns by Joe Hill, A Review

Ig may not be the most decent person in the world anymore, but after a drunken night he wakes up with actual devilish horns growing out of his head.

Ig is going through a grieving process a year after the murder and rape of his long time girlfriend. A murder and rape that everyone believes he committed, which, honestly, would ruin anyone’s life. However, now he has horns, so, not only does he feel bad as it is but now it seems there is clear evidence that so much is wrong.

There is a bigger problem here, too. These horns seem to bring out the worst in people. People not only want to do bad things when they see Ig, but they are telling him all their disgusting, dirty secrets… it’s really horrible.

I do recommend this book if your in the mood for some dark and twisty horror!

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!!