Lord of Shadows, The Dark Artifices book 2, by Cassandra Clare, A Short Review

This second book in the Dark Artifices series by Cassandra Clare had a fairly slow beginning and middle until almost the very end. I definitely had problems focusing and keeping my attention on reading this book. With that said, the ending is intense. I really can’t even decide how I feel about it besides partially devastated and maybe frustrated. This series really attempts to tackle some serious issues concerning mental health and different aspects to the LGBTQ community which only increases my love for Clare. I definitely suggest being patient with this series and trying to enjoy it, especially if you are a fan of the first two series in the Shadowhunter world.

Lady Midnight, The Dark Artifices book 1, by Cassandra Clare, A Quick Review

What a great start to The Dark Artifices series by Cassandra Clare! The last line of the book, not the Epilogue, made me gasp a little. I couldn’t help it! I just… what? But? Omg! Too much and I cant handle it. This book was steeped in the importance and love of family, also romance for sure, but family more so really. The need to have that older sibling, fatherly or, for some, motherly figure. To have that wholeness as a unit, that togetherness that defines the Blackthorns as family. I thought this tale was beautifully told, exciting, had my heart racing at parts. I highly recommend this for fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare!

Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare, A Short Review

This is such a heartwarming book of short stories all centering on Simon’s time at the Shadowhunter Academy. He may have “Demon Amnesia” but he has amazing friends who are there to help him along the way. This really is a must read for fans of Cassandra Clare’s World because there are actually a lot of details in this that cant be missed!

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!

The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, A Brief Review

This was a joy to read. A brief look at the glamorous life of Magnus Bane. I need to say, if you are interested in reading this, definitely read The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices series first! This answers some questions I had about Bane and it also helped me understand his character more. This book of short stories really made me like Bane as a person a lot more than I already did because I got to see him a little more clearly. I was able to see what really makes him who he is, and now I cant help but absolutely adore him! It proves that sometimes people need to simply understand each other and what makes us “people”. To try to understand, and when we understand each other we can see the whole person, not just the outfit or the glitter. And like people everywhere, there is much more to Magnus Bane than what is on the surface.

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!!

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare, A Review

What can I possibly say about this book, this beautiful and stunning series, now that I have completed it and I know … I just KNOW!! I know I adore Will, Jem and Tessa. I know that I feel like I personally know them, that I could turn my head and see Will and ask him what he’s been reading lately. And, yes, endings are painful, so painful because I cannot ever reread this and rejoin my friends like the first time. This last book is powerful and made me feel such strong emotions that hasn’t really happened with me and a series for a while. That is why there is joy to an ending that I can accept, while I feel a sense of grief, a sense of loss for these characters. So I will say what I can about this book without giving much at all away.

In this book, Sophie has quite a few sections in which she is the narrator, which is fabulous, especially because she has a very interesting gentleman suitor. I also learned where Isabelle’s red ruby and demon tracking pendant comes from! Not only that, but specifically how the first portals were made and how, which was fascinating. There is also correspondence, letters written between members of the institute and the Clave in each chapter that caused a lot of drama and in two cases some much needed comic relief. Also, mentioning comic relief, I must say two words: Demon Pox!

The automaton army is serious in this final book. It may begin light but the drama kicks up to the highest of high levels by the middle of the book leaving me desperately reading as fast as possible for the last 200 plus pages.

I highly recommend this series! Cannot reccomend The Infernal Devices enough! Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!!

Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare, A Review

Well… This series is so good I can barely stand it! I do not want to give anything away about how the first book, Clockwork Angel, ended so I will make this review brief.

The main thing about these books, The Infernal Devices series, that is equally making me incredibly happy and also feel like I’m going to explode with exasperation, is the very very intense love triangle. There is Will, who is all fire and blazing heat, and then there is Jem, who is gentle and kind and so easy to love. Of course, caught between these two, is the beautiful Tessa Gray…

I have no idea what I would do in this situation, but I adore Will and Jem. They are two sides to one coin. They balance each other. So, I do not know what I would do if I were Tessa. I do know that I would not be able to handle causing either of these wonderful young men pain.

Yes, there is still a massive threat of a Clockwork army coming to take down the nephilim, the Clave, by the elusive Magister. I cannot wait to learn more and see how this story ends (especially the love story) in the last book, Clockwork Princess.

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!!

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare, A Review

This series, The Infernal Devices, is in the same vein as The Mortal Instruments but, at the same time, is made of completely different material. I love the main female character so much. Tessa is the opposite of Clary in a few ways that make me happy. She is tall, which causes insecurities about her height, which I can actually relate to. Also, and this is a huge point in her favour, Tessa doesn’t really cry, at least not easily. Another thing I can relate to.

Tessa moves from America to grey England in 1878. She is searching for her brother and believes she is on her way to find him when, you guessed it, everything goes wrong and she winds up in a horrible situation. Eventually, Tessa finds herself amongst Shadowhunters at the London Institute, and that is where she meets the gorgeous Will Herondale and Jem.

I cannot say more without giving this amazing story away. However, just my opinion, but this is even better than TMI. Each chapter begins with a quote, very often Tennyson and at least once, Oscar Wilde. This just adds to the amazing British vibe that this book exudes. Also, many of these quotes are hauntingly romantic and leave me with goosebumps.

I highly recommend this! Cant wait to continue this series! Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!

City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare, A Review

What a spectacular ending to a spectacular series! My emotions got a little out of control on this one, especially by the end. There were a few times I thought it was over and it would end badly for Clary and Company, that evil would prevail. I dont want to spoil it but the ending is good, perfectly wraps up this six book series of the Mortal Instruments.

If you know exactly how the last book ended, you should be aware that the true battle of good against evil is just getting started in this final book. Luckily, it’s a long book so there is plenty of time. Anyways, the proverbial shit has hit the proverbial fan.

This book opens with a wild scene at the L. A. Institute. However, it gave me the heartwarming feeling of family and togetherness and not fighting alone while still being incredibly heartbreaking. It’s the perfect start to this mad journey of love and truth and kindness battling those that are simply amoral and do not care about anything good.

I think that’s the real story here. Cassandra Clare wraps us up in a dazzling tale but what she is really saying, is to let your love shine through. That love conquers all.

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!!

City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare, A Review

This was the best book in The Mortal Instruments series so far. I honestly had no idea what was going to happen next. It was heartwrenching and gut wrenching and just wrenching. This was intense!

The ending of the last book was insane and now, Clary and company are dealing with what, exactly, they should all be doing. Whether Clary likes it or not, the clave knows everything that’s happened up to this point and they are determining what actions should be taken.

However, the situation that is so concerning is not precisely as it seems. Clary is in a bad spot. She has to figure out what to do and it’s not an easy decision.

I am about to pick up the last book in this series and I cant wait! It’s going to be crazy!

Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!

City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare, A Review

This book opens with Simon meeting ONE of his girlfriends at a diner. He may still not be completely used to some changes he has undergone but he is certainly getting used to how much more popular he is with the ladies! Meanwhile, Clary is training at the Institute and it’s about time, girl! I’m ready for her to totally embrace her Shadowhunter side and learn how to kick some demon butt.

Now, Jace, on the other hand… He, unfortunately, is letting his history with Valentine influence his present life and his own perception about himself. This is really difficult for him, particularly at his age. He is no longer a child and yet, not quite an adult. Believing one thing for so long and then having everything just flipped and awful, has caused him to feel intense guilt and confusion.

The thing is… The ending of this book changes everything, for everybody really. And I just dont know right now what exactly I should be thinking. The only thing I can do is continue reading. RAFO- Read And Find Out. And that’s the plan!

I highly recommend this series, it’s so much fun and full of action! Thanks for reading my review and happy reading!!!